Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 26, 2012, 09:28:09 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Wollen Sie dem WebsiteBaker Team beitreten?
Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter hier und auf unserer neuen Webseite.
155554 Posts in 21715 Topics by 7737 Members
Latest Member: gx-world
* Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Odd Spam from the WB Board  (Read 1661 times)
desabol

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« on: July 29, 2006, 12:13:20 AM »

Anybody else get something similar in the past few days? I just got mine today.

New Personal Message: IMPORTANT NEWS AND INFORMATION!!!   Inbox
      
WebsiteBaker Community Forum    
<ryan@opensourcebakery.org> to me
    More options     7:03 pm (23 minutes ago)
You have just been sent a personal message by Kelly Ellis on WebsiteBaker Community Forum.

IMPORTANT: Remember, this is just a notification. Please do not reply to this email.

The message they sent you was:

If you have some time check out this COOL website:
...(removed)
Rest-assured this is great entertainment!!!
Also, check out the following website I came across:
... (removed)
It will knock your socks off!
Finally, the below website is the absolute BOMB!!!
...(removed)
ENJOY!!!

Reply to this Personal Message here: http://forum.websitebaker.org/index.php?action=pm;sa=send;f=inbox;pmsg=3363;quote;u=3425
« Last Edit: July 30, 2006, 10:43:17 AM by desabol » Logged
martzweb

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2006, 12:43:51 AM »

yup... i got exactly the same thing from a user called "Kelly Ellis"

looks like the spam-scum have invaded here too .... unlucky  sad
Logged
dhdesign

Offline Offline

Posts: 35


« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2006, 01:29:49 AM »

Yes I got the same PM from the same person.  They have also posted that pic all over the forum!!  Would be willing to bet that all the members got that PM. 

Desabol - would you mind editing your post and removing the image and the links please? All that does is give the spammer more "exposure". (as if they need any  tongue)
Logged
teressa

Offline Offline

Posts: 24



« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2006, 01:39:39 AM »

Ha, I got this too, I hadn't logged into this forum in months so I thought it was strange, I always thought phpBB was so locked down.

-T
Logged

baker's man, bake me a cake as fast as you can
Ryan

Offline Offline

Posts: 2048



WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2006, 02:32:22 AM »

The malicious user has sent a PM to every community member, as well as made a post in this board.
The user has now been blocked at the highest level, which means their IP, Hostname, Username, and Email are all blocked, so I would hope that they will not be coming back anytime soon.
I have removed all content possible (including the photo from above - although I left the text as an example for identification).
Logged

Website Baker Project Founder
www.websitebaker.or g

To contact me via email, visit:
www.ryandjurovich.c om
ztar

Offline Offline

Posts: 41


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2006, 02:36:49 AM »

I have removed all content possible (including the photo from above - although I left the text as an example for identification).

Still at least 12 messages plus photo on the boards...
Logged
Ryan

Offline Offline

Posts: 2048



WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2006, 02:52:25 AM »

ztar,

I noticed a couple of things still remaining after that post, and deleted everything I could find.
Could you tell me if you see anything - thanks.

Ryan.
Logged

Website Baker Project Founder
www.websitebaker.or g

To contact me via email, visit:
www.ryandjurovich.c om
kweitzel
Forum administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6977


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2006, 08:49:49 AM »

hthe problem with this kind of spam is you can not really guard against it. This kind of "user" targets thousands of customers with one post (or PM in this case). Obvious that he/she is willing to go through the signup process ...

Interesting for somebody hosting a forum in Germany: http://www.heise.de/newsticker/meldung/72026

cheers

klaus
Logged

WebsiteBaker Org e.V. - for WebsiteBaker

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!