Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 26, 2012, 06:31:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Wollen Sie dem WebsiteBaker Team beitreten?
Nähere Informationen finden Sie unter hier und auf unserer neuen Webseite.
155547 Posts in 21714 Topics by 7737 Members
Latest Member: gx-world
* Home Help Search Login Register
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Strange emailaddress  (Read 3007 times)
Hans

Offline Offline

Posts: 565


« on: January 10, 2006, 09:11:21 PM »

Hello,
when I send a form from one of the WBmade sites I get an email from Kamperen@dime95.dizinc.com, while my host is Powweb.
Is this something to worry about?
Hans
Logged

Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands
Stefan
Guest
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2006, 09:21:37 PM »

Yes, I think you have a problem there...
Is it version 2.6.1?

Search your database (if you have a web frontend, use it, otherwise export and search the file) for an occurrence of this address.
Logged
Hans

Offline Offline

Posts: 565


« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2006, 10:16:54 PM »

Hi Stefan

no it's still 2.5.2 (haven't had the courage to switch until now  undecided It's a very complicated site) but there are no instances of any part of the emailaddress in the database, so I will ask my provider first (which isn't Powweb by the way, nor dizinc). I hope that it has nothing to do with WB now the database appears to be "clean".

Thanks so far
Hans
Logged

Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands
Stefan
Guest
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2006, 10:39:22 PM »

Have you applied the login security patch?

Check your config file. Maybe that's where the strange e-mail address resides.
Logged
Hans

Offline Offline

Posts: 565


« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2006, 10:56:05 PM »

Have you applied the login security patch?

No I haven't but I will surely search for it and apply it.
dime95.dizinc.com appears to be the mailserver of my provider (having a totally other name), so this is solved at some point.

I wonder however if it is possible to have this the site's own websiteaddress.
I ask this because the dizinc.com domain apparently is misused for spamming (see http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/COMPUTING/topspamdomains.html ) and therefor filtered by some providers.
If the part after the @ could be different than dizinc this issue could be resolved.

Thanks Stefan for your quick reply (as always)  grin
Hans
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 10:26:12 PM by Hans » Logged

Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands
kweitzel
Forum administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6976


WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2006, 08:00:37 PM »

Hi Hans,

I am not entirely shure, but if you look into the options, settings and the advanced settings, there you have a field calles "Server E-Mail".

I haven't used a mailing module yet so ... but to me it sounds at least like the option you are looking for.

cheers

Klaus
Logged

WebsiteBaker Org e.V. - for WebsiteBaker

Woudloper
Guest
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2006, 08:19:01 PM »

I wonder however if it is possible to have this the site's own websiteaddress.
I ask this because the dizinc.com domain apparently is misused for spamming (see http://www.waisman.wisc.edu/COMPUTING/topspamdomains.html ) and therefor filtered by some providers.
If the part after the @ could be different than dizinc this issue could be resolved.

Today I had some e-mail/private message contact with pcwacht about the form module as I am having some problems with e-mail not ariving at some domains (e.g. tiscali.nl). After searching and digging the internet I found the following topic (and some more) as osCommerce Nederland:

link: http://forums.oscommerce.nl/index.php?s=24f628aa4d0f1336fdee5dacf9e72dc7&showtopic=6101&view=findpost&p=34972

There they mention that the tiscali provider checks e-mail if they have an existing MX Record. This check is been based upon the 'RFC821' protocol. When you use the custom field (like: name) for the 'email from' part of the form submission the result will be something like:

Quote

As Tiscali and some other providers do a MX lookup for the part behind the @ and do a lookup on the blacklist the e-mail will not arrive. If you would like to fix this, you need to dive into the sourcecode of the 'view.php' file of the form module or maybe take a look at pcwacht his version of the form module....
Logged
Hans

Offline Offline

Posts: 565


« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2006, 10:54:06 PM »

Thanks Woudloper,

I will search for pcwacht's formmodule and look if that might help.
Hans
Logged

Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands
pcwacht
Guest
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2006, 11:18:19 PM »

I'm sorry to say that it wouldn't

It uses the same mail routines as the core form module


I am helping Woudloper to get his mailtrouble fixed, then we will post it here

In the meantime, make sure you have a sender address set in your form module, without a sender the mail function will take your servers name wich might get bounced!!


John
Logged
Hans

Offline Offline

Posts: 565


« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2006, 12:53:22 AM »

In the meantime, make sure you have a sender address set in your form module, without a sender the mail function will take your servers name wich might get bounced!!

It does, even when I set a sender address in the form module  undecided
Hans
Logged

Hans - Nijmegen - The Netherlands
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!