Hey guys, just thought I would try to put out a message about a PayPal scam I got emailed. It is a message asking to verify your account, but points to a dodgey website. I have reported it to the PayPal website, but I thought I would warn you guys in case it takes them a while to warn you
Here is a copy of the extremely dodgey message, which points to
www.aspi-paypal.com (don't login there!)...
Security Measures
We are currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures. Your account has been randomly selected for this maintenance, and you will now be taken through a series of identity verification pages.
Protecting the security of your PayPal account is our primary concern, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
For your security, PayPal will never ask you to re-enter your full bank account, credit, or debit card number without providing you at least the LAST TWO DIGITS of the number. These digits let you know that we already know the full number and are asking you for the rest of it. Beware of any website or email asking for these numbers for "verification" that does not PROVE that it knows the number by providing at least the last two digits.
Please click the link below and fill in the correct information for the following category to verify your identity.
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=login-runIgnoring our request, for an extended period of time, may result in account limitations or may result in eventual account closure.
Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure meant to help protect you and your account.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department
Above it shows:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=login-runbut really, it is a HTML message, and although it shows the correct link, it really opens:
http://aspi-paypal.com/webscr.php?cmd=LogInYOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
I hope to help you all. Now, time to iron out the last bugs in 2.5.2
